
 
STATE OF MISSOURI,   ) 
      ) 
 Plaintiff-Appellant,   ) 
v.       ) No. SD30928 
      ) 
DARRELL G. DELONG,    ) 
      ) 
 Defendant-Respondent.  ) 
 

APPEAL FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF LAWRENCE COUNTY 

Honorable Larry W. Meyer, Associate Circuit Judge 

REVERSED AND REMANDED 

 Darrell Delong (Defendant) was charged with a number of felonies and a 

misdemeanor in three separate cases in Lawrence County, Missouri.  The trial court 

entered an order dismissing the charges in all three cases with prejudice based upon the 

State’s alleged failure to bring Defendant to trial within the 180-day time limit specified 

in the Interstate Agreement on Detainers (IAD).  See § 217.490.1  The State has appealed 

the dismissal.  This Court reverses and remands the case for further proceedings.  

Between May and June 2009, the Lawrence County prosecutor charged 

Defendant with the following felonies:  leaving the scene of an accident; first-degree 

                                       
1  All references to § 217.490 are to RSMo (2000).  All further references to 

statutes are to RSMo Cum. Supp. (2008) unless otherwise specified.  
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tampering; resisting arrest; first-degree burglary; stealing; and two counts of receiving 

stolen property.  See § 577.060 RSMo (2000); § 569.080; § 575.150; § 569.160 RSMo 

(2000); § 570.030; § 570.080.  In addition, Defendant was charged with the misdemeanor 

of driving while his license was revoked.  See § 302.321.  The foregoing charges were 

filed against Defendant in three separate cases (hereinafter referred to as the Lawrence 

County cases). 

In August 2009, Defendant was taken into custody in Oklahoma on charges 

originating from that state and was later incarcerated in the Oklahoma Department of 

Corrections (DOC).  While incarcerated in Oklahoma, Defendant filed a “Request for 

Disposition of Detainer” in the Lawrence County cases on April 23, 2010.  At that time, 

no detainer relating to these cases had been lodged against Defendant.  On April 26, 

2010, the Lawrence County prosecutor sent a letter to Oklahoma DOC officials 

requesting that they “place a detainer” on Defendant and that “the proper forms under the 

IAD be given to the defendant so that the paperwork can be started to bring the defendant 

back to Lawrence County.”  At no point after the detainer was lodged against Defendant 

did he renew his request for disposition of the charges against him by delivering the two 

written notices and certificate required by the IAD. 

 In September 2010, Defendant was brought before the trial court in Lawrence 

County for a preliminary hearing.  At that time, Defendant requested that the charges in 

the Lawrence County cases be dismissed.  The court initially denied the request, and 

Defendant filed a motion to reconsider.  On October 21, 2010, the trial court granted 

Defendant’s motion to dismiss.  The court found that:  (1) Defendant filed his request for 

disposition of detainer on April 23, 2010; and (2) a detainer was lodged against 

Defendant by the Lawrence County prosecutor via his April 26, 2010 letter.  The court 

determined that Defendant’s request on April 23, 2010 triggered the 180-day time limit 
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for him to be brought to trial on the charges in the Lawrence County cases.  Because 

Defendant was not tried within 180 days, the court concluded that Defendant was entitled 

to have all pending charges against him dismissed with prejudice pursuant to § 217.490.  

This appeal followed.2 

In the State’s single point on appeal, it contends the trial court misapplied the law 

by dismissing all pending charges in the Lawrence County cases with prejudice pursuant 

to § 217.490.  The State argues that Defendant is not entitled to IAD-based dismissals 

because no detainer relating to the Lawrence County cases had been lodged against 

Defendant when his request for disposition was filed on April 23, 2010.  We agree. 

“Whether the trial court properly interpreted and applied the IAD to the facts is a 

question of law which this Court reviews de novo.”  State v. Woods, 259 S.W.3d 552, 

555 (Mo. App. 2008).3  “The IAD is a congressionally-sanctioned interstate agreement 

that permits a prisoner in one state to seek disposition of criminal charges filed against 

him by [a] second state.”  Lybarger, 165 S.W.3d at 184; Woods, 259 S.W.3d at 555.  The 

primary purpose of the IAD is to provide for prompt disposition of detainers.  State v. 

Davis, 210 S.W.3d 229, 235 (Mo. App. 2006); State v. Vinson, 182 S.W.3d 709, 711 

(Mo. App. 2006).  A “detainer” is a legal order that requires a state in which an individual 

is currently imprisoned to hold that individual when he has finished serving his sentence 

                                       
2  The State has the right to appeal this final judgment, which resulted in the 

outright dismissal with prejudice of all pending charges in the Lawrence County cases, 
pursuant to § 547.200.2 RSMo (2000); see State v. Brown, 140 S.W.3d 51, 53 (Mo. banc 
2004); State v. March, 130 S.W.3d 746, 748 (Mo. App. 2004). 

 
3  Because we review de novo the trial court’s application of the IAD statute to the 

undisputed facts, we find no merit in Defendant’s arguments that the State did not 
properly preserve the issue for appellate review or that we must have a transcript of the 
attorneys’ legal arguments at the motion hearing in order to decide this appeal. 

 



 4

so that he may be tried by a different state for a different crime.  Davis, 210 S.W.3d at 

234-35. 

As adopted by Missouri and other states (including Oklahoma), the IAD requires 

prison officials to promptly inform the prisoner of any detainer lodged against him and of 

his right to request final disposition of an indictment, information or complaint pending 

in the second state.  § 217.490, Art. III, ¶ 3; see generally OKLA. STAT. tit. 22, §§ 1345-

1349.  A prisoner’s request for disposition of the charges must be in writing and shall 

operate as a request for final disposition of all untried charges for which detainers have 

been issued by the second state.  § 217.490, Art. III, ¶ 1, 4.  Upon receipt of the written 

notice, the second state may take temporary custody of the prisoner and must dispose of 

the pending charges within 180 days.  Id. at ¶ 1; see Lybarger, 165 S.W.3d at 184.  To 

invoke these provisions, a prisoner must make a good faith effort to substantially comply 

with the IAD’s requirements, omitting nothing essential to the statute’s operation.  See 

Woods, 259 S.W.3d at 556-57; State ex rel. Saxton v. Moore, 598 S.W.2d 586, 590 (Mo. 

App. 1980).  Insofar as relevant to the issue presented by this appeal, Article III, 

Paragraph 1 of the IAD sets forth the procedure to be followed to trigger commencement 

of the 180-day period: 

Whenever a person has entered upon a term of imprisonment in a penal or 
correctional institution of a party state, and whenever during the 
continuance of the term of imprisonment there is pending in any other 
party state any untried indictment, information or complaint on the basis 
of which a detainer has been lodged against the prisoner, he shall be 
brought to trial within one hundred eighty days after he shall have caused 
to be delivered to the prosecuting officer and the appropriate court of the 
prosecuting officer’s jurisdiction written notice of the place of his 
imprisonment and his request for a final disposition to be made of the 
indictment, information or complaint ....  The request of the prisoner shall 
be accompanied by a certificate of the appropriate official having custody 
of the prisoner ....   
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§ 217.490, Art. III, ¶ 1 (italics added).  The IAD is to be construed in harmony with the 

Uniform Mandatory Disposition of Detainers Law (UMDDL), which is an act providing 

prisoners with similar protections for intrastate detainers.  State v. Smith, 686 S.W.2d 

543, 547 (Mo. App. 1985); §§ 217.450-.485; see State v. Overton, 261 S.W.3d 654, 662 

(Mo. App. 2008) (the IAD and the UMDDL are in pari materia so that the principles of 

one may be applied to the other).  

Missouri courts have already decided that a detainer must be lodged against a 

prisoner before he can invoke the protections of the IAD.  In Hicks v. State, 719 S.W.2d 

86 (Mo. App. 1986), Hicks was charged in Dallas County, Missouri, with escape.  Id. at 

87.  He was charged in Webster County with robbery.  Id.  While incarcerated in 

California, Hicks filed a request for disposition of the charges against him on September 

19, 1977.  Id. at 89.  On January 18, 1978, Hicks pled guilty in Dallas County to the 

escape charge.  Id. at 87.  On March 7, 1978, the Webster County prosecutor lodged a 

detainer relating to the robbery charge against Hicks.  Id.  At trial, Hicks moved for 

dismissal of the robbery charge on the ground that his trial occurred 226 days after his 

request for disposition on September 19, 1977.  The motion was denied, and Hicks was 

convicted.  On appeal, he argued for reversal based upon the IAD.  Citing a number of 

IAD cases from other jurisdictions, this Court rejected Hicks’ argument for the following 

reason: 

Since no detainer had been lodged against Hicks with respect to the 
Webster County robbery charge at the time Hicks claims he made a 
request for final disposition [September 19, 1977] his request, even if 
properly made with respect to the Dallas County charges, was ineffective 
with respect to the robbery charge and the Agreement on Detainers was 
not triggered with respect to the latter. 
 

Id. at 90 (footnote omitted).  In State v. Howell, 818 S.W.2d 681 (Mo. App. 1991), the 

western district of this Court cited Hicks for the proposition that  “a prisoner in a sending 
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state cannot ‘request’ disposition of a detainer and pending charges, and so invoke the 

[IAD] limitations, where no detainer exists.”  Id. at 682 n.1.4 

Under the UMDDL, the 180-day time limit also is triggered only when a detainer 

has been lodged against the prisoner.  See State v. Buckles, 636 S.W.2d 914, 921 (Mo. 

banc 1982) (holding that the UMDDL “specifically provides” that its 180-day time limit 

only commences when a detainer has been lodged against the prisoner)5; State v. Sharp, 

341 S.W.3d 834, 839 (Mo. App. 2011) (holding that “[a] fundamental procedural 

requirement of [the UMDDL] is that the defendant must send a written request for the 

disposition of untried charges on the basis of which a detainer has been lodged against 

him”); Burnes v. State, 92 S.W.3d 342, 347 (Mo. App. 2003) (“[a]bsent the presence of a 
                                       

4  These Missouri appellate cases refute Defendant’s argument that the IAD does 
not require the detainer to be filed before the request for disposition.  Commonwealth v. 
Petrozziello, 491 N.E.2d 627 (Mass. App. 1986), contains a persuasive explanation of the 
rationale for rejecting this argument:  

 
The defendant contends that the four requirements which trigger the 
relevant time periods in the Agreement do not have to occur in any special 
sequence ….  If carried to its logical extreme, however, such an approach 
would likely cause considerable confusion. For example, immediately 
upon pretrial detention, prisoners could file requests under the Agreement 
for final disposition of all charges pending in other jurisdictions, even 
though they had not yet been convicted of the offenses for which they 
were held, had their places of confinement finally determined, or had 
detainers lodged against them. Prosecuting officers would, in turn, be 
pressed to file detainers prematurely in order to avoid the loss of their 
rights to prosecute. Not surprisingly, there is little authority to support the 
argument favoring this methodology. 

 
Id. at 632 (footnote omitted).  At oral argument, defense counsel took the position that 
the plain language of the IAD required the 180-day time limit to begin running upon 
receipt of Defendant’s request for disposition of the charges, even though no detainer had 
been lodged against him at that time.  Under Defendant’s proposed interpretation of 
§ 217.490, he still would be entitled to a dismissal with prejudice even if:  (1) a detainer 
had been lodged against him 179 days after he filed his request for disposition; and (2) 
the State could not try him the next day.  We decline to adopt such an unreasonable 
interpretation of the statute. 
 

5  Buckles was abrogated on other grounds by State v. Waller, 816 S.W.2d 212, 
213 (Mo. banc 1991).   
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detainer, [the UMDDL] does not allow Movant to request a final disposition of the 

Greene County charges”); Coats v. State, 998 S.W.2d 869, 869 (Mo. App. 1999) (“a 

detainer must be filed before a prisoner can invoke the protections of UMDDL”); 

Tillman v. State, 939 S.W.2d 388, 389 (Mo. App. 1996) (same holding); State v. Smith, 

849 S.W.2d 209, 213 (Mo. App. 1993) (same holding). 

Defendant argues, however, that he is entitled to dismissal because he 

substantially complied with the IAD’s procedural requirements.  Defendant relies upon 

State ex rel. Saxton v. Moore, 598 S.W.2d 586 (Mo. App. 1980), which states that “[i]f 

the prisoner makes a good-faith effort to bring himself within the Agreement’s purview, 

and omits nothing essential to the Agreement’s operation, then his failure of strict 

compliance will not deprive him of its benefits.”  Id. at 590.  Defendant argues that his 

act of filing a request for disposition before any detainer was lodged against him 

constitutes substantial compliance with the IAD’s procedural requirements.  We disagree. 

This same argument was recently addressed in State v. Sharp, 341 S.W.3d 834 

(Mo. App. 2011).  There, Sharp filed a request for disposition of charges before a 

detainer was lodged against him.  Id. at 838.  The western district of this Court construed 

language in the UMDDL, similar to that in the IAD, permitting a prisoner to request a 

final disposition of untried charges on the basis of which “a detainer has been lodged 

against him ....”   § 217.450.1; Sharp, 341 S.W.3d at 839.  The western district held that 

the lodging of a detainer against Sharp was a “fundamental procedural requirement of 

section 217.450 ....”  Sharp, 341 S.W.3d at 839.  Once the detainer was actually lodged 

against Sharp, there was no indication in the record that he renewed his request for 

disposition of the untried charges.  Id.  Based on the “clear and unambiguous” language 

of the statute, the western district held that “[a]bsent the court’s finding that a detainer 

was already filed, or the functional equivalent, a defendant’s premature request for 
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disposition of charges does not trigger the 180-day time limit.”  Id.  Accordingly, the 

western district held that Sharp’s premature request did not constitute substantial 

compliance with the UMDDL because no detainer had been lodged against him with 

respect to those untried charges.  Id. at 840. 

We reach the same conclusion here.  The IAD applies only when “a detainer has 

been lodged against the prisoner.”  § 217.490, Art. III, ¶ 1 (emphasis added).  We hold 

that the lodging of a detainer against the prisoner is a fundamental procedural 

requirement of § 217.490 and must have occurred before a request for disposition of the 

untried charges can be effective.  See Sharp, 341 S.W.3d at 839.  Because no detainer 

had been lodged against Defendant when he made his request for disposition on April 23, 

2010, the IAD’s 180-day time limit was not triggered.  See id.; State v. Howell, 818 

S.W.2d 681, 682 n.1 (Mo. App. 1991); Hicks v. State, 719 S.W.2d 86, 90 (Mo. App. 

1986).  Consequently, the trial court misapplied the law by dismissing the Lawrence 

County cases with prejudice.  The State’s point is granted.   

The judgment is reversed.  The cause is remanded for further proceedings 

consistent with this opinion. 

 

 

 

Jeffrey W. Bates, Judge 

SCOTT, J. – Concurs 

FRANCIS, P.J. – Concurs 
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