Appellate Judicial Commission releases demographic, interviewee and meeting information for Teitelman vacancy on Supreme Court of Missouri

7 February 2017
JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Pursuant to Rule 10.28(d), the Appellate Judicial Commission announces the following demographic information relating to applicants for the vacancy on the Supreme Court of Missouri created by the November 2016 death of Judge Richard B. Teitelman.

There are 31 applicants for the vacancy. Two are women; there is one minority applicant. Fifteen are from outside the three metropolitan areas. Sixteen applicants work in the public sector, 14 work in the private sector and one works in both. Of those in the private sector, eight work in solo or small-firm practices. Of those in the public sector, 12 are trial court or appellate court judges. The applicants' mean age is 54.4 years. The commission received public nominations for 25 individuals.

Also pursuant to Rule 10.28(d), the commission announces it will interview all 31 applicants:
Jason O. "Jay" Barnes
 Benjamin A. Lipman
   Jon E. Beetem
   Gary W. Lynch
   Alan M. Blankenship
   Shaun J. Mackelprang
   Dennis J. Capriglione
   Edward R. Martin Jr.
   R. Craig Carter
   Jeffery T. McPherson
   Timothy S. Davis
   Terrence M. Messonnier
   Kirk H. Doan
   John B. Morthland
   David A. Dolan
   Stephen J. O'Brien
   Steven E. Ehlmann
   Timothy W. Perigo
   Richard A. Gartner
   W. Brent Powell
   Douglas D. Gaston
   Sherry A. Rozell
   Jack A.L. Goodman
   Richard L. Schnake
   Lisa White Hardwick
   Erwin O. Switzer III
   Larry D. Harman
   Robert E. Tucker
   Joseph L. Hensley
   Paul N. Venker
   Michael D. Hodge

The commission is expected to conduct interviews from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, February 28 and from 8:30 a.m. to 2:20 p.m. Wednesday, March 1 at the Supreme Court of Missouri, 207 West High Street in Jefferson City. The public is invited to attend and observe interviews. The commission is expected to meet beginning at approximately 2:30 p.m. on March 1 in the same location to select the three nominees from this applicant pool for the governor's consideration.

Contact: Beth S. Riggert
Communications Counsel
Supreme Court of Missouri