22nd circuit commission releases demographic, interviewee, meeting information for Sweeney circuit judge vacancy in St. Louis

4 August 2017

ST. LOUIS – Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10.28(d), the 22nd Circuit Judicial Commission releases the following information relating to applicants for the circuit judge vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Edward Sweeney: 32 applicants, 16 women, 16 men, 10 minority, 22 non-minorities, 21 presently employed in the private sector and 11 presently employed in the public sector. The applicants' mean age is 47.

Also pursuant to Rule 10.28(d), the commission announces it will interview all 32 applicants:

Deborah M. Bird

Timothy J. Boyer

Michael A. Brockland

David A. Bruns

Steven J. Capizzi

Mary Pat Carl

Suzette Carlisle

Francisco J. Carretero

Nicole Colbert-Botchway

Michael J. Colona

Madeline O. Connolly

Matthew J. Devoti

Katherine M. Fowler

Micah D. Hall

Bridget L. Halquist

Heather J. Hays

Craig K. Higgins

Heather Highland

Jessica W. Kennedy

Richard L. Kroeger Jr.

James J. Leightner

Annette Llewellyn

Patrick L. Mickey

Joan K. Miller

Patrick J. Monahan

Lynne R. Perkins

Deborah L. Price

David A. Roither

Calea F. Stovall-Reid

Larry D. Thomason, Jr.

Lisl E. Williams

Clinton R. Wright


The commission will meet beginning at 9 a.m. August 30, 2017, at the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District, on the 3rd floor of the Old Post Office, located at 815 Olive, St. Louis, Missouri, to conduct public interviews to select three nominees from this applicant pool for the governor’s consideration. The public is invited to attend and observe the interviews.

The members of the 22nd Circuit Judicial Commission are: James M. Dowd, chief judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District; Bryan J. Sanger, Rita Burlison, Andre' Harris, and Thomas Neill.


Contact: Laura Roy, clerk of court
Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District
(314) 539-4300