Territorial Jurisdiction

The Court of Appeals may issue and determine original remedial writs and has general appellate jurisdiction in all cases not within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Missouri Supreme Court. Cases that are not within the Supreme Court's exclusive jurisdiction may be transferred from the Court of Appeals to the Supreme Court when it is determined that a case involves an important issue that should be decided by the Supreme Court. The Court's territorial jurisdiction is listed below.

Adair County

Andrew County

Atchison County

Bates County

Benton County

Boone County

Buchanan County

Caldwell County

Callaway County

Carroll County

Cass County

Chariton County

Clay County

Clinton County

Cole County

Cooper County

Daviess County

DeKalb County

Gentry County

Grundy County

Harrsion County

Henry County

Holt County

Howard County

Jackson County

Johnson County

Lafayette County

Linn County

Livingston County

Macon County

Mercer County

Miller County

Moniteau County

Morgan County

Nodaway County

Pettis County

Platte County

Putnam County

Randolph County

Ray County

Saline County

Schuyler County

Sullivan County

Vernon County

Worth County