21st Circuit Commission announces nominees to fill Ross circuit judge vacancy in St. Louis County

29 February 2012

Commission announces nominees for Ross circuit judge vacancy in St. Louis County

CLAYTON, Mo. -- The Twenty-First Judicial Commission announced the panel of three nominees to be submitted to Gov. Jay Nixon to fill the vacancy on the St. Louis County circuit court created by the resignation of Judge John A. Ross.

Those nominated by the commission are:

Mary Elizabeth Ott – The Honorable Mary Elizabeth Ott has served as an associate circuit judge for the 21st Judicial Circuit (St. Louis County) since 2008. She has a bachelor of arts degree from Saint Mary’s College and her law degree from Saint Louis University School of Law.

Peter W. Gullborg – Peter Gullborg is counsel, specializing in complex commercial litigation, with the civil litigation firm of Rabbitt, Pitzer & Snodgrass, where he has worked since 2004. He previously worked as a public defender in Southeast Missouri, in St. Louis city and in St. Louis County. Prior to becoming an attorney, Gullborg worked as a safety engineer with the U.S. Department of Defense. Gullborg earned his bachelor of science and master of science degrees in engineering from the University of Missouri-Rolla in 1984 and 1987, respectively; a master of business arts degree from Texas A&M in 1989; a master of science in safety engineering from Texas A&M in 1990; and his law degree from the University of Maryland in 1994.

John D. (Jack) Warner Jr. – Jack Warner is a graduate of Saint Louis University Law School and practiced law at Kortenhof & Ely from 1982 to 2000. Warner was managing partner at Kortenhof & Ely when he left to form a law firm with Jeffrey P. Gault in Clayton, Mo. Warner currently represents plaintiffs and defendants in personal injury matters and employees in workers’ compensation matters. He is an active participant in the Mentor St. Louis Program and has served as a judge in the S.T.A.R. Court Program in the Ferguson/Florissant School District. Warner is a member of the Missouri and Illinois bar associations and also is licensed to practice law before the U.S. District Court for the Eastern and Western districts of Missouri and the Supreme Court of the United States.

The commission conducted two days of public hearings after having received written responses to questionnaires sent to each of the 32 applicants. The questionnaire is attached. The commission believes that these candidates chosen from a field of extremely qualified individuals possess those qualities essential to the fair and efficient administration of justice. The commission is confident that all of these individuals are capable of serving well and honorably if selected by the governor. After three ballots of voting, Gullborg and Warner each received four votes, and Ott received three votes.

The members of the Twenty-First Judicial Circuit Commission are: Judge Kurt S. Odenwald, chief judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District; Robert Patrick Dudley; Matthew J. Rossiter; Rev. Anthony Witherspoon; and Richard Wuestling IV.


Contact: Laura Roy

Clerk of the Court

Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District

(314) 539-4300