Ferguson Municipal Division, Judicial Circuit 21

Located in St. Louis County, 21st Judicial Circuit
 
222 S. Florissant Road
Ferguson, MO 63135
(314) 524-5264
(314) 524-4127 (facsimile)
http://www.fergusoncity.com

Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday
EXCEPT Thursdays when an evening docket is scheduled, when the court closes at 4:30 p.m.
 
To help restore public trust and confidence in the Ferguson municipal court division, the Supreme Court of Missouri transferred Judge Roy L. Richter of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District, to the St. Louis County circuit court, where he was assigned to hear Ferguson's municipal cases effective March 16, 2015, and to implement needed reforms to court policies and procedures in Ferguson to ensure that the rights of defendants are respected and to help restore the integrity of the system. Read the Supreme Court of Missouri's March 9, 2015, news release announcing the reassignment and the Court's order of the same date.

Judge Richter entered an administrative order March 18, 2015, governing where cases would be heard, prohibiting the use of electronic devices and governing media access to Ferguson municipal proceedings. He also entered an order April 1, 2015, adopting a violations bureau fine schedule.
 
How does court work, and what are a defendant's rights?
 
For the benefit of those individuals with cases pending before the municipal division, Judge Richter made introductory remarks at the beginning of his first Ferguson municipal docket March 19, 2015, explaining:
  • The Missouri court system, how municipal divisions work – including the kinds of municipal violations for which a person can pay a fine without appearing in court and those for which the law requires the person to appear;
 
Does a charge require a defendant to appear in court? What if a defendant just wants to plead guilty and pay the fine online?
 
State law allows courts to establish a violations bureau schedule for animal, housing and certain traffic violations. People charged with these types of violations who wish to plead guilty and pay a predetermined fine and costs may do so without appearing in court. All violations that do not require a personal appearance are listed in the violations bureau schedule.
 
Defendants charged with violations that do not require a court appearance who wish to plead guilty and pay their fines online may do so through The Payment Group. There are two payment options available. The first is for defendants who wish to pay the entire amount of the fine. The second is for defendants who have appeared before the municipal judge and who wish to make a partial payment according to their court-approved payment plan.

When is court held?
 
Here are upcoming times when the Ferguson municipal division is scheduled to hear cases:
 
April 2015
Tuesday, April 21 –10 a.m.
Tuesday, April 28 –10 a.m. (trials)

May 2015
Wednesday, May 6 –11 a.m.
Thursday, May 7 –6 p.m.
Tuesday, May 12 –10 a.m.
Thursday, May 14 –6 p.m.
 
June 2015
Wednesday, June 10 –11 a.m.
Thursday, June 11 –6 p.m.
Thursday, June 18 – 6 p.m.
Tuesday, June 23 –10 a.m.
Tuesday, June 30 –10 a.m. (trials)
 
July 2015
Wednesday, July 15 –11 a.m.
Thursday, July 16 – 6 p.m.
Thursday, July 23 – 6 p.m.
Tuesday, July 28 –10 a.m.
 
August 2015
Wednesday, August 12 –11 a.m.
Thursday, August 13 – 6 p.m.
Tuesday, August 18 –10 a.m. (trials)
Thursday, August 20 – 6 p.m.
Tuesday, August 25 –10 a.m.
 
September 2015
Wednesday, September 9 –11 a.m.
Thursday, September 10 –6 p.m.
Thursday, September 17 –6 p.m.
Tuesday, September 22 –10 a.m.
 
October 2015
Wednesday, October 7 –11 a.m.
Thursday, October 8 –6 p.m.
Thursday, October 15 –6 p.m.
Tuesday, October 20 –10 a.m. (trials)
Tuesday, October 27 –10 a.m.
 
November 2015
Wednesday, November 11 –11 a.m.
Thursday, November 12 –6 p.m.
Tuesday, November 17 –10 a.m.
Thursday, November 19 –6 p.m.
 
December 2015
Wednesday, December 9 –11 a.m.
Thursday, December 10 –6 p.m.
Tuesday, December 15 –10 a.m.
Thursday, December 17 –6 p.m.