2014 Constitution Project competitors announced

9 June 2014

2014 Constitution Project competitors announced

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – The Supreme Court of Missouri’s Committee on Civic Education announces the 12 schools chosen to compete in the annual Constitution Project, which will hold regional competitions during the fall 2014 semester and will culminate with championship rounds in Jefferson City later in the fall.

This year’s competition will feature teams from: in the eastern region, Cardinal-Ritter College Preparatory High School in St. Louis, Clayton High School in Clayton, Park Hills Central High School in Park Hills and Washington High School in Washington; in the central region, Dixon High School in Dixon, Father Tolton Regional Catholic High School in Columbia, Helias High School in Jefferson City and St. James High School in St. James, and, in the southern region, Houston High School in Houston, Logan-Rogersville High School in Rogersville, Nixa High School in Nixa and West Plains High School in West Plains.

The Constitution Project gives students a mock crime scene to investigate, report about and eventually try in a mock trial, all under the mentorship of local professionals in the fields of crime scene investigation, journalism and trial advocacy. Started three years ago at Houston (Missouri) High School by Texas County Associate Circuit Judge Doug Gaston, the competition expanded last year to include more than 70 students from eight schools in four regions participating in The Constitution Project’s inaugural year as a statewide competition.

This year’s competitors were chosen based on school district excellence, capability in teaching the three disciplines of the competition and student aptitude. In addition, to be chosen, each community was required to pledge commitments from the school, local judges, law enforcement, media and attorneys.

“It was difficult to narrow down the applications and select the final competitors from the talented group of high schools that applied,” Judge Gaston said. “But this competition requires collaboration by the entire community, and the schools selected for this year’s competition have the proven support, partnerships and community excellence necessary to win.”

Winners will be named at the team and individual level for each discipline. Individual award winners will receive $1,000 scholarships from sponsoring organizations. Statewide cosponsors of the project include the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Missouri Sheriff’s Association, Missouri Police Chiefs Association, Missouri Press Association, Missouri Broadcasters Association and The Missouri Bar.

To learn more about The Constitution Project, please visit www.courts.mo.gov/constitutionproject.