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JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Appellant appeals from a judgment of the Boone County Circuit Court

dismissing his Rule 29.15 motion as untimely.  Appellant filed this motion seeking

to vacate his conviction for tampering with a motor vehicle, for which he was fined

$5000.  The sentencing court suspended all but $500 of the fine and placed Appellant

on probation for five years.  Following a decision by the Missouri Court of Appeals,

Western District affirming the dismissal of Appellant’s motion, this Court ordered

transfer of this appeal.  Therefore, jurisdiction lies in this Court.  MO. CONST. art. V,

§ 10; Rule 83.04.
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STATEMENT OF FACTS

After a jury trial, Appellant was convicted in Boone County Circuit Court

under § 569.080.1(2), RSMo 2000, for the Class C felony of tampering with a motor

vehicle under (L.F. 6, 23-24; PCR L.F. 4).1  On March 19, 2001, the sentencing court

fined Appellant $5000, but suspended all but $500 of that fine and placed Appellant

on supervised probation for five years with conditions (L.F. 23-24; PCR L.F. 4). 

On March 29, 2001, Appellant filed an appeal from this conviction to the

Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District (L.F. 4, 27; PCR L.F. 16).  But on

November 16, 2001, Appellant filed a motion voluntarily dismissing his direct

appeal (PCR L.F. 16).  On November 20, 2001, the court of appeals issued its

mandate dismissing Appellant’s appeal (PCR L.F. 16).

                                                
1“L.F.” refers to the legal file in Appellant’s direct appeal (No. WD59820),

which he later voluntarily dismissed.  “PCR L.F.” refers to the legal file in this

appeal from the dismissal of Appellant’s Rule 29.15 motion.

Sixty-four days after that mandate was issued, on January 23, 2002, Appellant

filed in Boone County Circuit Court a pro se motion under Rule 29.15 seeking to

vacate his conviction and sentence (PCR L.F. 1, 4-9).  Appellant’s motion alleged that
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the trial court refused to permit certain testimony and that his trial counsel was

ineffective for not interviewing witnesses and not objecting (PCR L.F. 5-6).  The

motion court dismissed Appellant’s Rule 29.15 motion because Appellant had never

been “incarcerated” in the Department of Corrections (PCR L.F. 2, 14).   The court of

appeals affirmed the motion court’s judgment dismissing the motion on the ground

that Appellant was precluded from filing a Rule 29.15 motion because he was

sentenced only to pay a fine and, thus, had never been “incarcerated.”
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ARGUMENT

The motion court’s judgment dismissing Appellant’s Rule 29.15 motion was

not clearly erroneous because Appellant was precluded from filing a Rule 29.15

motion in that this rule required that the motion be filed within ninety days after the

issuance of the mandate affirming the conviction, or, if no appeal was filed, within

ninety days after the individual’s delivery to the custody of the Department of

Corrections; and, Appellant voluntarily dismissed the appeal of his criminal

conviction before a decision on the merits and he was never delivered to the custody

of the Department of Corrections as a result of this conviction.

The issue here is whether the motion court’s dismissal of Appellant’s Rule

29.15 motion was clearly erroneous.  Appellant, who was never delivered to the

custody of the Department of Corrections, forfeited his right to proceed under Rule

29.15 when he voluntarily dismissed the appeal of his criminal conviction before it

was considered on the merits.  Because no mandate was issued affirming Appellant’s

conviction, and because Appellant, who was sentenced only to a fine and probation,

was never delivered to the custody of the Department of Corrections, he was

precluded from filing a Rule 29.15 motion under the plain language of that rule.

A.  Standard of Review

Appellate review of the denial of a post-conviction motion is limited to a

determination of whether the findings of fact and conclusions of law issued by the

hearing court are “clearly erroneous.”  Morrow v. State, 21 S.W.3d 819, 822 (Mo.
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banc 2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1171 (2001); Rule 29.15.  Findings and conclusions

are “clearly erroneous” only if after a review of the entire record the court is left

with the definite and firm impression that a mistake has been made.  Id.; State v.

Taylor, 929 S.W.2d 209, 224 (Mo. banc 1996), cert denied, 519 U.S. 1152 (1997).

This case turns on the language of Rule 29.15.  “In interpreting Rule 29.15,

‘the same standards as those used in the construction of statutes’ is used.  The

appellate court’s role is ‘to ascertain the intent of the framers of the rule from the

language used, and to give effect to that intent.  To do so, the words of the rule are

considered in their plain and ordinary meaning.’”  Bittick v. State, 105 S.W.2d 498,

503-04 (Mo. App. W.D. 2003) (citation omitted).

B.  The Plain Language of Rule 29.15 Precluded Appellant’s Motion

Rule 29.15, as it read when Appellant was sentenced, provided a different

deadline for the filing of the motion depending on whether the underlying conviction

was appealed:

If an appeal of the judgment or sentence sought to be vacated, set aside, or

corrected was taken, the motion shall be filed within ninety days after the date

the mandate of the appellate court is issued affirming such judgment and

sentence.  If no appeal of such judgment or sentence was taken, the motion

shall be filed within ninety days of the date the person is delivered to the

custody of the department of corrections.
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Rule 29.15(b).2  “Failure to file a motion within the time provided by . . . Rule 29.15

shall constitute a complete waiver of any right to proceed under . . . Rule 29.15 and a

complete waiver of any claim that could be raised in a motion filed” under this rule.

 Id.

Because Appellant appealed his conviction, his Rule 29.15 motion was

required to be filed within ninety days after the date the court of appeals issued its

mandate affirming Appellant’s judgment and sentence.  But Appellant elected not to

proceed with his appeal and instead voluntarily dismissed it.  By doing so, Appellant

prevented the court of appeals from deciding his appeal on the merits and issuing a

decision either affirming or reversing his conviction and sentence.

                                                
2The complete text of Rule 29.15 as it existed when Appellant was sentenced is

contained in the Appendix, pp. A1-A3.  Effective January 1, 2003, the filing deadline

was extended to 180 days from the date the person was delivered to the custody of the

Department of Corrections if no appeal was filed.
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Appellant argues that his motion was timely filed because he filed it within

ninety days after the court of appeals issued its mandate in his direct appeal. 

Although this is facially correct, it begs the question presented in this case.  To be

timely, the motion was required to be filed within ninety days after the appellate

court issued its mandate “affirming” the judgment and sentence.  The mandate issued

by the appellate court in this case did not “affirm” Appellant’s judgment and

sentence, but simply ordered that his appeal be dismissed in accordance with the

motion for voluntary dismissal he filed.3

Appellant’s reliance on State v. Kelly, 966 S.W.2d 382 (Mo. App. E.D. 1998), in

support of his argument is misplaced.  In Kelly, the court held that Rule 29.15

precluded a defendant from filing a motion to recall the mandate on the ground of

ineffective assistance of appellate counsel in a case in which the court of appeals had

dismissed his direct appeal for failure to file the record on appeal.  Id. at 383.  In

dictum, it noted that a Rule 29.15 motion was timely if filed within ninety days after

the appellate court issued its mandate.  Id. at 385.  But the language of Rule 29.15

considered in Kelly had been amended by the time Appellant was sentenced.  Before

the amendment, the rule simply provided that if the conviction was appealed, the

motion was required to “be filed within ninety days after the date the mandate of the

appellate court is issued.”  Rule 29.15 (eff. Jan.1, 1996).  Thus, the distinction

                                                
3Appendix, p. A7.
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between simply issuing a mandate and issuing a mandate affirming the judgment and

sentence was not at issue in Kelly.4

                                                
4The July 1, 2000, amendment to Rule 29.15(b) established the filing deadline

at ninety days from issuance of the mandate affirming the conviction and added a new

provision concerning cases in which the appellate court remanded the case for entry

of a new judgment or sentence.  This amendment was apparently intended to avoid

the situation described by the court in Kelly in which a defendant was forced to file

successive Rule 29.15 motions in cases in which a mandate was issued either

dismissing the case or remanding it for a new judgment or sentence, and in which

the appeal was later reinstated or a subsequent appeal of the new judgment or
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sentence was filed, resulting in the issuance of yet another mandate.  See Kelly, 966

S.W.2d at 385.
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A mandate dismissing an appeal, whether voluntary or otherwise, and a

mandate affirming the trial court’s judgment and sentence are entirely different. 

Missouri law recognizes a distinction between an appellate court dismissing a case

and affirming a judgment.  For example, § 512.160 provides that appellate courts

may award damages to a respondent “upon the affirmance of any judgment or order,

or upon the dismissal of any case.”  Section 512.160.4, RSMo 2000.  This distinction

has also been recognized by the courts.  In West v. Spencer, 141 S.W. 586, 238 Mo. 65

(Mo. 1911), the court addressed a motion to dismiss the appeal filed in a case in

which it later affirmed the trial court’s judgment.  The court acknowledged a

distinction between these two remedies by holding that it could not simultaneously

dismiss the appeal and affirm the judgment:

Even if that motion [to dismiss the appeal] were found well taken, we cannot

very well both dismiss and affirm.  That course would be a novel and wild

exuberance of judicial power.

141 S.W. at 588.  See also Sechrist v. Hufty Rock Asphalt Co., 59 S.W.2d 767, 768 (Spr.

1933) (suggesting that a motion to dismiss, rather than a motion to affirm the

judgment, should have been filed when the appellant failed to perfect its appeal).

Because Appellant filed an appeal but later voluntarily dismissed it, he was

precluded from filing a Rule 29.15 motion because the court of appeals issued no

mandate affirming his judgment and sentence.  Appellant’s Rule 29.15 motion,

though filed sixty-four days after the court of appeals issued its mandate dismissing
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Appellant’s appeal, was, therefore, properly dismissed.  Appellant forfeited his

opportunity to proceed under Rule 29.15 by voluntarily dismissing his direct appeal.

The motion court, as well as the court of appeals, held that Appellant was

precluded from filing a Rule 29.15 motion because he was never “incarcerated.” 

Appellant, both in his brief and pro se Rule 29.15 motion, concedes that he was never

incarcerated for this conviction and that the ninety-day deadline for individuals who

have been delivered to the custody of the department of corrections does not apply to

him because he appealed his conviction.  Appellant’s Brief, p. 11; Appendix, p. A8.5 

This position is supported by the express language of Rule 29.15(b), which provides

that this ninety-day deadline applies only to individuals who did not appeal their

convictions.  See also Jackson v. State, 876 S.W.2d 1, 1 (Mo. App. W.D. 1994). 

Moreover, this Court, in construing the phrase “delivered to the custody of

the Department of Corrections” contained in Rule 24.035, has held that it requires

actual physical delivery and does not apply to an individual who has merely been

placed on probation.  See Thomas v. State, 808 S.W.2d 364, 365 (Mo. banc 1991); see

also Searcy

                                                
5Curiously, Appellant’s pro se motion also states that he never appealed his

conviction (Appendix, p. A9).
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 v. State, 103 S.W.3d 201 (Mo. App. W.D. 2003). Appellant, however, was precluded

from filing a timely Rule 29.15 motion by voluntarily dismissing his direct appeal

before the court of appeals had an opportunity to decide the case on the merits and

issue a mandate either affirming or reversing his conviction.  Finally, Appellant was

precluded from proceeding under the ninety-day delivery-to-custody deadline

because he was never physically delivered to the Department of Corrections as a

result of his conviction.

Appellant complains that the western district’s holding that only incarcerated

individuals have standing to file Rule 29.15 motions conflicts with the eastern

district’s holding in Geiler v. State, 866 S.W.2d 863 (Mo. App. E.D. 1994), in which

the court stated that the language of Rule 29.15 applies to a person convicted of a

felony without regard to the penalty imposed.  Although the plain language of the

rule supports the court’s statement in Geiler, the defendant in that case, who was

sentenced only to a fine, did not dismiss the direct appeal from his conviction. 

Appellant potentially had the opportunity to proceed under Rule 29.15

because he appealed his conviction.  But he was precluded from doing so when he

voluntarily dismissed his appeal.  This was not an issue in Geiler, because the

defendant did not dismiss his direct appeal.  In fact, Geiler involves the simultaneous

appeal of both the defendant’s conviction and the denial of his Rule 29.15 motion.  Id.

at 864.  When Geiler was decided, the filing deadline under Rule 29.15 was either
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thirty days from the date the transcript was filed in the appellate court if a direct

appeal was filed, or ninety days from delivery to the custody of the Department of

Corrections if no appeal was filed.  Rule 29.15(b) (eff. Jan. 1, 1988).6  If the defendant

in Geiler, who was sentenced only to a fine, had dismissed his direct appeal before

the transcript was filed, then he, just like Appellant, would have been precluded from

proceeding under Rule 29.15.

The western district’s statement that only incarcerated individuals may file

motions under Rule 29.15 is true insofar as those individuals have either not

appealed their convictions or have dismissed their direct appeal before it is decided

on the merits.  The court of appeals apparently considered Appellant’s dismissal of

his direct appeal as if he had never filed one at all.

Consequently, Appellant, by his own hand and the plain language of Rule

29.15, was precluded from filing a motion under that rule.  His ability to timely file

a motion and proceed under that rule was extinguished when he voluntarily

                                                
6When Geiler was decided, Rule 29.15(b) provided, in part:  “If an appeal of

the judgment sought to be vacated, set aside or corrected was taken, the motion shall

be filed within thirty days after the filing of the transcript in the appeal pursuant to

Rule 30.04.   If no appeal of such judgment was taken, the motion shall be filed within

ninety days of the date the person is delivered to the custody of the department of

corrections.”
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dismissed his direct appeal before the court of appeals decided it on the merits. 

Because he was sentenced only to a fine and a term of probation and was thus never

delivered to the custody of the department of corrections, he was precluded from

filing a Rule 29.15 motion. 

Appellant is not unique in this regard.  The deadlines for filing a post-

conviction motion under Rule 24.035, relating to felony guilty pleas, are identical to

those contained in Rule 29.15.  Rule 24.035(b).  In several cases, the courts have held

that individuals who have pleaded guilty to felonies, but who were never delivered to

the custody of the Department of Corrections, do not have standing to file Rule

24.035 motions.  See McGowan v. State, 949 S.W.2d 657 (Mo. App. S.D. 1997)

(individual sentenced to county jail, but later delivered to the Department of

Corrections to serve a concurrent sentence on an unrelated conviction, was

precluded from filing a Rule 24.035 motion); Barna v. State, 918 S.W.2d 417 (Mo.

App. E.D. 1996) (individual who was immediately sent to Florida to serve sentences

imposed by that state following a guilty plea in a Missouri court was precluded from

filing a Rule 24.035 motion because he was never delivered to the Missouri

Department of Corrections); Johnston v. State, 833 S.W.2d 451 (Mo. App. S.D. 1992)

(individual was precluded from filing a Rule 24.035 motion when he was

immediately delivered to Oklahoma authorities to serve an unrelated sentence and

had never been delivered to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections).
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CONCLUSION

The trial court did not clearly err in dismissing Appellant’s Rule 29.15

motion, and its judgment should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON
ATTORNEY GENERAL
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