

Supreme Court of Missouri en banc

October 6, 2015

In re: Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness

<u>ORDER</u>

There is hereby established a "Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness." The commission's goal is to examine and review current practices and recommend measures to ensure fairness, impartiality, equal access and full participation for racial and ethnic minorities in the judicial process and in the practice of law. Consistent with these goals, the commission shall:

Identify any barriers to access and fairness in the judicial system and legal profession;

Review the applicable constitutional provisions; statutes; ethical, procedural and court operating rules that may impact these issues; and such other materials as the commission believes would be helpful to its study and the development of its recommendations;

Seek public input and engagement through written suggestions, public hearings or such other avenues as the commission believes helpful, as well as collaborate and participate in the "Minority Community Engagement" project with the National Center for State Courts and National Consortium on Racial and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts;

1

Conduct, with the consent of the Court, surveys and study additional research regarding racial and ethnic equity in the justice system and in the legal profession.

The commission shall focus its work in six areas – the judicial system, generally; the civil justice system; the criminal justice system; the juvenile justice system; the municipal justice system; and the practice of law and will have subcommittees in these areas and such other subcommittees as needed to facilitate its work. Its focus may include but is not limited to the following:

The existence and impact of any racial and ethnic bias and/or disparities within the judicial system and the practice of law;

Changes to court rules, regulations, laws and/or practices to improve meaningful access to or participation in the judicial system and the practice of law by racial and ethnic minorities;

Measures to ensure that all persons within the judicial system and practice of law refrain from manifesting bias or prejudice, by words or conduct, based on race or ethnicity;

Measures to address any implicit or other bias within the judicial system and legal profession;

The availability of effective legal representation for racial and ethnic minorities within the judicial system;

Measures to enhance racial and ethnic diversity in the selection, retention and promotion of judicial officers, court staff and professionals in the legal community; and

2

Measures to enhance understanding of the practices, procedures and proper role of the state's courts.

The commission may act to implement its recommendations as authorized by the Court.

The commission shall be composed of at least 40 members. The commission will be led by three co-chairs along with a steering committee composed of the co-chairs of each of the commission's six subcommittees.

Commission co-chairs:

William R. Bay, St. Louis, for a term expiring June 30, 2017.

The Honorable Lisa White Hardwick, Judge, Missouri Court of Appeals, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; and

Deputy Chancellor Emeritus Michael A. Middleton, Columbia, for a term expiring June 30, 2017.

The following members shall be members of the Commission (those serving as members of the Steering Committee are designated by an asterisk):

Professor David Achtenberg, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

*The Honorable Louis Angles, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Salim Elias Awad, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Jean Peters Baker, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

Richard Bien, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

Susan E. Block, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Winston Calvert, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

Gerard Carmody, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

*Patrick Chavez, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Keith Cheung, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Lajuana Counts, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

The Honorable Charles Curless, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

*Dana Tippin Cutler, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Gonzalo Fernandez, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Erica L. Freeman, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

*The Honorable Kenneth Garrett, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

*The Honorable Sandra Hemphill, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

Professor Chuck Henson, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

J.R. Hobbs, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Crista Hogan, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Jolie Justus, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Lt. Col. Sandy Karsten, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

The Honorable Kristine Kerr, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Levell D. Littleton, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

Annette Llewellyn, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Professor Susan McGraugh, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Professor Kimberly Norwood, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

Professor Mary Kay O'Malley, for a term expiring June 30, 2017

*The Honorable Jalilah Otto, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

*The Honorable Gary Oxenhandler, for a term expiring June 30, 2019;

Jennifer Placzek, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

The Honorable Nancy Rahmeyer, for a term expiring June 30, 2018;

Professor Geetha Rao Sant, for a term expiring June 30, 2017;

The Honorable Marco Roldan, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; Leonard Searcy, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; Allan Seidel, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; *Booker T. Shaw, for a term expiring June 30, 2019; Annette Slack, for a term expiring June 30, 2019; *Antwaun Smith, for a term expiring June 30, 2017; Randee Stemmons, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; The Honorable Todd Thornhill, for a term expiring June 30, 2019; *Professor Karen Tokarz, for a term expiring June 30, 2017; Willis L. Toney, for a term expiring June 30, 2017; *Lynn Ann Vogel, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; *Gary Waint, for a term expiring June 30, 2018; Michael L. Walton, for a term expiring June 30, 2019; Kristen Williams, for a term expiring June 30, 2019; Michael A. Williams, for a term expiring June 30, 2019; Jacob Zimmerman, for a term expiring June 30, 2017.

The commission shall file its initial report to this Court on or before June 1, 2016, and annual reports on or before each January 1 thereafter.

The commission and its subcommittees shall meet at such times and places as determined by the co-chairs, and members will be reimbursed actual expenses as authorized for state employees.

Day - to - Day

Atricia Stechenridge Clifiet Justice