Commission announces nominees for Beach vacancy on St. Louis County circuit court

25 June 2010

Commission announces nominees for Beach vacancy on St. Louis County circuit court

St. Louis -- The Twenty-First Judicial Commission announced the panel of three nominees to be submitted to Governor Jay Nixon to fill the vacancy on the St. Louis County circuit court created by the elevation of Judge Douglas R. Beach.   

Those nominated by the commission are:

Joseph Shocklee Dueker – Joeseph S. Dueker was born in St. Louis County. He earned his bachelor of arts degree, cum laude, in economics and history in 1989 from the University of Richmond. He earned his law degree in 1992 from Saint Louis University School of Law. He has been an assistant prosecuting attorney for 17 years. He was promoted to associate chief trial attorney in 2008. Dueker resides in Chesterfield with his wife and their two children. 

Terry Lee Jones  – Terry L. Jones was born in St. Louis. He served in the United States Marine Corps for two years (1972-1974). Jones earned his bachelor of arts degree, magna cum laude, in history in 1977 from the University of Missouri-St. Louis. Jones receives his law degree from the Washington University School of Law and has been in private practice. Jones resides in Manchester with his wife and their three children. 

Bonnie Joyce Kelley –  Bonnie Joyce Kelley was born in St. Louis. She graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia in 1980 and received her law degree from St. Louis University School of Law in 1985. After working in private practice for several years, in 1991 she joined the county counselor’s office, where she is currently an associate county counselor. Kelley lives in Chesterfield and has five children.  
The commission believes that these candidates chosen from a field of extremely qualified individuals possess those qualities of compassion, intellect and high moral purpose essential to the fair and efficient administration of justice. Each of these people have that trial experience and sense of fairness that the commission knows is required to administer justice to the people of the St. Louis County and the state of Missouri and proudly presents these names to Governor Nixon for his ultimate decision. The commission is confident that all of these individuals are capable of serving well and honorably if selected by the governor.

The members of the Twenty-First Judicial Circuit Commission are: Chief Judge of the Missouri Court of Appeals Kenneth M. Romines, Debbie Champion, Patrick Dudley, Laurie Westfall and Richard Wuestling IV.

Contact: Laura Roy, (314) 539-4300