Legislators, judicial personnel honored for service to Missouri

16 September 2002

Legislators, judicial personnel honored for service to Missouri

Contact: Beth Riggert, Communications Counsel
Supreme Court of Missouri
Desk: 573-751-3676
Cell: 573-619-2849

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- At an annual ceremony honoring service to Missouri and the state's judiciary, Supreme Court Chief Justice Stephen N. Limbaugh Jr. recognized the efforts of various legislators, judges and court staff. The ceremony was held Friday morning, September 13, as part of the annual meeting of the Missouri Judicial Conference, the organization of all state judges, which is held in conjunction with the annual meeting of The Missouri Bar.  Both meetings were held at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City, Mo.

The Judicial Conference honored 11 individuals with Special Recognition Awards for outstanding legislative service to the people of Missouri. Gov. Bob Holden was recognized for his unflagging support of the state's judiciary. State senators honored at the breakfast included: Harold Caskey, D-Butler, for helping the judiciary through a very difficult budget process; Peter Kinder, R-Cape Girardeau, for lending his expertise as an attorney to help his peers understand the needs of the judiciary; David Klindt, R-Bethany, for helping his peers understand the technical aspects of the state's court automation program; and Harry Wiggins, D-Kansas City, for his long-term support of the judiciary, including his recent service as the only attorney on the Senate Budget Committee.  State representatives honored at the breakfast included: Glenda Kelly, D-St. Joseph, for personally lending support to the chief justice and judiciary during the House budget debates; and Ralph Monaco, D-Kansas City, for his work as an attorney in chairing the House Judiciary Committee. Also receiving awards but unable to attend were Sen. Ken Jacob, D-Columbia; Labor and Industrial Relations Commissioner David Klarich, a former Republican state senator from Ballwin; Rep. Jason Crowell, R-Cape Girardeau; and Rep. Catherine Hanaway, R-Warson Woods.

This year, Chief Justice Limbaugh gave a new award to recognize exemplary service to the judiciary and outstanding contributions to the administration of justice. Named the "Chief Justice Awards," the honorees are selected by the chief justice with advice and consent of the other judges on the Supreme Court. Five judges and one court clerk received this inaugural award Friday morning. St. Louis City Circuit Judge Henry Autrey was recognized for his solid work as a state judge; he now has been promoted to the federal bench. Judge Frank Conley, presiding judge of the 13th Judicial Circuit (Boone and Callaway counties) was honored for the respect he's earned in his 30 years as a trial judge and for his service in presiding over cases throughout the state as a special judge. Judge Kathianne Crane of the Court of Appeals, Eastern District, was recognized for her work on various judicial committees, most notably the judicial Redistricting Commission, on which she has served twice. Judge Roy Richter, associate circuit judge in Montgomery County, was honored for being a "quintessential" team player, serving on numerous judicial committees and piloting the automation program in his court. Phelps County Associate Circuit Judge Mary Sheffield also was recognized for being a quintessential team player and for her national service as president of the National College of Probate Judges.  In addition, Cheryl Whitmarsh, the Boone County circuit clerk, was honored for being a leader in implementing court automation both in her court and throughout the state, as she teaches other circuit clerks the benefits of the program.

More than 150 judges from throughout the state attended the awards ceremony.