Supreme Court Rules

First Adopted: June 25, 1974

Most Recently Effective: January 01, 2026

Rule 14 | Rules Governing The Missouri Bar and the Judiciary | Certified Court Reporters

14.11 | Revocation or Suspension

(a) This Court, for good cause shown after a hearing by the board, may revoke or suspend any certificate issued by the board.

(b) The clerk of this Court shall notify or cause to be notified the clerk of each circuit court, the court administrator of the circuit courts of St. Louis City and Jackson and St. Louis Counties, and the clerk of each district of the court of appeals of the name and certificate number of any court reporter whose certificate has been revoked or suspended. If a certificate that has been revoked or suspended is reinstated, the clerk of this Court shall notify or cause to be notified the clerk of each circuit court, the court administrator of the circuit courts of St. Louis City and Jackson and St. Louis Counties, and the clerk of each district of the court of appeals of the name and certificate number of any court reporter whose certificate has been reinstated.

(c) A certified court reporter who has allowed a certification to lapse due to nonpayment of the renewal fee may request reinstatement by the board upon payment of all back fees plus a penalty of $25 for each year, to a maximum of $100, of nonpayment and proof of compliance or request for waiver of the provisions of Rule 14.09 and Rule 14.10.

Regulations of the Missouri Board of Certified Court Reporter Examiners

1. When the board receives a complaint regarding a certified court reporter, the board shall send a copy of the complaint to the certified court reporter. The certified court reporter has 30 days to respond in writing to the complaint. After receiving the certified court reporter’s response or after the time for filing the response has passed, the board shall determine whether further inquiry into the complaint or the certified court reporter’s performance or qualifications is necessary for purposes of disciplinary action. 

2. If the board determines no further inquiry is necessary because there is no probable cause for discipline, the board shall notify the complainant and the certified court reporter that the board’s review of the matter is closed. The complaint, response, and any other records related to a closed matter shall be confidential.

3. If the board determines further inquiry is necessary, the board shall conduct a hearing. The certified court reporter shall have the right to be represented by counsel and present evidence at the hearing. The board shall fix the time and place for the hearing and may conduct the hearing by interactive video technology. The hearing process is not an adversary proceeding but is a fact-finding process for the ultimate benefit of the public interest. No discovery is permitted and contentious, overbearing, or hostile tactics and presentations are discouraged. The board, upon written request of any certified court reporter, shall request that the clerk of the Court issue a subpoena to a third person to compel testimony or to produce documents. The written request must be received at least seven days before any scheduled hearing and must demonstrate that such testimony, evidence, or documents are reasonably calculated to aid the inquiry.

4. Following the hearing, the board shall decide whether to recommend to the Court that the certified court reporter’s certificate be revoked or suspended. The board’s decision shall be made in writing and set forth the reasons for its recommendation. A copy thereof shall be provided to the certified court reporter. If the board recommends suspension or revocation, the board shall file its decision with the clerk of the Court together with any such portions of the evidence presented the board considers necessary to support its decision. The certified court reporter or his or her counsel may file with the Court any other portions of the evidence presented that he or she considers necessary to the Court’s determination.

5. Upon the board’s recommendation, the Court shall determine whether good cause is shown to revoke or suspend the certified court reporter’s certificate. 


(Rule adopted June 25, 1974, effective January 1, 1975. Amended December 14, 1978, effective January 1, 1979; amended September 1, 1979, effective September 1, 1979; amended February 28, 2001, effective January 1, 2002. Regulation adopted June 2, 2026, effective July 1, 2026)
Back to top